James Dinsmore wins the UKWA’s Windsurfer of the Year award 2019/2020

The UKWA is proud to announce the winner of the 2019/ 2020 Windsurfer of the year award goes to James Dinsmore.

James is a very worthy winner of this prestigious award and will top off a great season for him winning for the 7 consecutive years the UKWA Slalom champion. Which has never been achieved before. This is despite tough competition from seasoned racers and up and coming youngsters. James is a fantastic windsurfing ambassador and well respected by all those who come in contact with him and he always finds the time to assist those around him within the windsurfing community.

In addition to his racing credentials, he just such a modest, approachable guy. He was also instrumental in and continues to coordinate the local Windsurfing Slalom Training series on Hayling Island, many of those racers of all abilities have benefitted from his dedication and a true ambassador to the sport.

Bob Ingram UKWA chairman said “ I am very pleased to be presenting James with this award, having know him for many years and his lovely family. I couldn’t think of a more worthy winner and glad that the public thought so as well. I am convinced he will use this year as Windsurfer of the year to good effect and inspire others to take up and reap the rewards of windsurfing competition.”

Well done to all the other praiseworthy nominees who gave a James a run for his money this year, Pete Young (speed), Clare Elliott (Freestyle), Mark Kay (Racing), Phil Horrocks (Wave) all of which have done an exceptional job in their discipline and we wish them all well for the upcoming season.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.